Created in 2003, the European Historic Houses Association Award, formerly known as the Heike Kamerlingh Onnes Award, rewards a private owner, a private organization or a professional, preferably a member of one of the cooperating associations of the European Historic Houses, for his contribution to the conservation, the protection and the promotion of cultural heritage.

Indeed, it recognizes their successful efforts in maintaining a historic monument, a garden or a landscape, or cultural heritage in general. The European Historic Houses Association attributes this award once a year during its Annual Meeting.

2012 Winner – Pädaste Manor, Muhu Island, Estonia

Pädaste Manor, a 16th century manor located on the small island of Muhu in Estonia, has transformed from complete ruins to a 5-Stars, world renowned property, thanks to the hard work put into it by its owners, Martin Breuer et Imre Sooäär. Keeping in touch… Read more

2011 Winner – Beloeil Castle, Belgium

Established in the province of Hainaut for eight centuries, the majestic Beloeil Castle has been a property of the de Ligne family since the end of the 14th century, when it was passed through inheritance from the Condés. Now in the hand of TRH Prince… Read more

2010 Winner – Huntington Castle, Clonegal, Ireland

Originally built in the 17th century, Huntington Castle was passed on to many owners either by marriage or inheritance. It has also been transformed various times, but left almost in ruins until Mr. David Durdin-Robertson acquired the property, including the Castle and the buildings surrounding it.… Read more